Corporate Governance

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Global Invacom Group Limited (the "Company") is committed to maintaining a high standard of corporate governance. The Board confirms that it has generally adhered to the principles and guidelines as set out in the 2018 Code of Corporate Governance which was issued by the Monetary Authority of Singapore (the "2018 Code") as well as the Quoted Companies Alliance Corporate Governance Code for AIM listed companies with its requirement to "comply or explain" its adoption of the QCA Code's ten principles of good corporate governance.

This report describes the Company's corporate governance policies and practices with specific reference made to each of the principles of the 2018 Code (where stated) in compliance with the Listing Manual of the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited ("SGX-ST").

The Company is pleased to disclose its corporate governance processes and activities with specific reference to the Code for the financial year ended 31 December 2022. Other than the specific deviations or alternative governance practices adopted by the Company in lieu of the recommendations in the 2018 Code which are explained in the report, the Company has complied with the principles and guidelines of the 2018 Code.

Board of Directors

Wayne Robert Porritt | Independent Non-Executive Director

Wayne Porritt was appointed as an Independent Director on 9 October 2020 and Independent Non-Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors on 9 December 2022. He is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of both the Audit and Risk and Nominating Committees.

Mr Porritt is an accomplished global risk professional with significant experience engaging with regulatory authorities across Asia, the United Kingdom and the United States. He has held non-executive board roles in a number of banking, finance and commodity related businesses, and has worked extensively across Asia, the Middle East and Africa, particularly in Greater China, South Korea, Thailand and Japan. Mr Porritt has held senior positions at Bank of America and Standard Chartered Bank after starting his career at the State Bank of New South Wales and then Ernst & Young and Société Générale Australia. Over his career, he has specialised in risk, corporate credit, global financial restructuring, and insolvency engagements for corporate and financial institutions.

Mr Porritt currently acts as a Non-Executive board member/council member for a number of entities, including Sun Hung Kai & Co. Limited, Oxfam Hong Kong, Asia Society Australia and The Aurora Group – A Ruby Foundation Limited. He is also a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an ordinary member of the Singapore Institute of Directors.

Gordon Blaikie Executive Director Global Invacom
Gordon Blaikie | Executive Director & Interim Chief Executive Officer

Gordon Blaikie was appointed an Executive Director on 1 July 2021 and Interim Chief Executive Officer on 9 December 2022.

Since joining Global Invacom in 2012, Mr Blaikie has been responsible for overseeing the manufacturing entities and sales functions of the Group and regularly working closely with the Board and senior management team to improve the Group's operating performance. He has worked extensively across Asia, Europe and the United States and during his career has garnered significant experience in managing multi-site sales and manufacturing functions, executing the delivery of high quality products to an exacting customer base.

Mr Blaikie brings over 38 years’ experience in manufacturing and operations and was previously the Operations Director for Amphenol, the world’s leader in connector manufacturing in both aerospace and military products. Prior to joining Amphenol, he spent 20 years at Clairemont Electronics.

Mr Blaikie holds a Diploma in Production and Inventory Management Control.

John Lim Yew Kong | Lead Independent Director

John Lim Yew Kong was appointed as an Independent Director on 13 September 2010. He is the Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee as well as Lead Independent Director and a member of the Nominating Committee and Remuneration Committee.Since 1991, Mr Lim has been extensively involved in corporate advisory and private equity investments, having worked in AXIA Equity Pte Ltd and two private equity funds covering the ASEAN region. Mr Lim worked in Dowell Schlumberger in the United Kingdom and Arthur Andersen & Co, London between 1984 and 1991. Currently, he is an Independent Non-Executive Director of Karin Technology Holdings Limited and ZICO Holdings Inc., which are both listed on the Singapore Exchange.Mr Lim graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science in the United Kingdom. He is a Chartered Accountant of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Cosimo Borrelli | Independent Director

Cosimo Borrelli was appointed Non-Executive Director on 4 December 2009 and was the Chairman of the Board of Directors from 4 December 2009 to 25 October 2010. Following the completion of the acquisition of Global Invacom Holdings Limited, Mr Borrelli was re-designated as an Independent Director on 8 August 2012. He is the Chairman of the Nominating Committee and a member of the Audit and Risk Committee, as well as the Remuneration Committee.

Mr Borrelli is a Chartered Accountant with over 32 years of experience in formal and informal corporate restructuring, forensic accounting and financial investigations. This experience has included being appointed by courts, lenders and financiers, distressed companies, secured and unsecured creditors, investors and other interested parties. Mr Borrelli has a track record of establishing and delivering restructuring and corporate advisory arrangements in numerous industries, including financial services, property, telecommunications, retail, manufacturing and professional services.

Mr Borrelli holds a Bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of Adelaide, Australia. He is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, as well as the Institute of Certified Public Accountants and Institute of Certified Public Accountants Insolvency Interest Group in Hong Kong, and the Insolvency Practitioners Association of Australia.

Kenny Sim Mong Keang | Non-Executive Director

Kenny Sim Mong Keang was appointed as a Non-Executive Director on 23 September 2015.

Mr Sim is the founder and Chief Executive Officer of both I2 Capital Pte Ltd and CESK Capital Pte Ltd, specialising in investment, and corporate advisory services, respectively. He currently serves on the boards of telecommunications company Oden Technology Pte Ltd and property investment firms Maximus Fortune Pte Ltd, and ZACD Group Ltd which is listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Mr Sim also founded the Plexus group of companies in 1997, which, under his leadership, became a regional electronics components distributor with 18 offices across Asia. Prior to founding his current companies, Mr Sim was the Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of SGX Catalist-listed WE Holdings Ltd, acquired in 2011 through a reverse takeover of Westech Electronics Ltd by Plexus Components.

Mr Sim holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Murdoch University, Western Australia, and a Diploma in Electronics Engineering from Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore. He currently serves as Chairman of Bukit Timah Citizens’ Consultative Committees.